Prof. O.C. Aworh, NIFST Fellow emerges President-Elect of IAFoST

Posted by Dola Adeboye

On July 18, 2020

In a keenly competitive election, a distinguished Fellow of NIFST, Professor Ogugua Charles Aworh emerged as the President-Elect of International Academy of Food Science & Technology (IAFoST). The IAFoST is a statutory component of the International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) that collectively forms a pool of scientific expertise in food science and technology from which IUFoST draws non-aligned expert advice on scientific matters. Prof. Aworh’s tenure shall span the period of 2020-2022. Considering the fact that other distinguished academic from America and other notable continents were equally nominated for the position, Prof. Aworh’s emergence is a huge milestone for the Nigerian Institute of Food Science & technology (NIFST), the entire membership of NIFST and Nigeria as a Country. NIFST community congratulates him and his family.

Prof. Ogugua Charles Aworh (FNIFST, FIAFoST)

Prof. Ogugua Charles Aworh is Lifetime Achievement Award recipient and past Chair of the Body of Fellows of the Nigerian Institute of Food Science and Technology (NIFST). The former Chairman, Body of Fellows of NIFST, is the George Coumantaros Distinguished Professor, Flour Mills Food Research Centre, Department of Food Technology, University of Ibadan. The distinguished Professor served three terms as Head of the Department.

He has been visiting Research Fellow/Professor at University of Leeds, UK; University of British Columbia, Canada; and Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellow, Hamburg University of Technology, Germany.

He is pioneer Chairman of UI’s Multidisciplinary Central Research Laboratory. His areas of research include post-harvest technology and processing, food safety, biotechnology, and capacity building. He has over 100 scientific publications and has supervised 120 MSc and 17 PhD students.

He led WAAFoST’s [IUFoST Regional Body] contribution to IAFoST/IUFoST Global Challenges Report and is mentor for African Women in Agricultural Research and Development and IUFoST young scientists.

Read more about this illustrious Nigerian below